Ded Na Si Lolo: Philippines’ Official Oscars 2010 Entry

The country’s entry to Oscars 2009, ‘Ploning’ gained lots of achievements in different international film festivals across Asia and Europe. Unfortunately other films bested ‘Ploning’ over at the 2009 Oscars.

This year to compete in the ‘Best Film in Foreign Language’ category is APT Entertainment’s ‘Ded na si Lolo’ which casts Elizabeth Oropesa, Gina Alajar, Roderick Paulate, Manilyn Reynes, Dick Israel and BJ Forbes as the lead stars. The story revolved around a child whose grandfather died and their family’s beliefscaused conflicts on how they’ll mourn.

The 82nd Academy Awards will will be presented on March 7, 2010 at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood. The Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) chose ‘Ded na si Lolo’ over other award-winning Filipino movies including Baler. Let’s cross our fingers and be hopeful that they’re pretty right with their decision. It’s still a good film after all. 😉

‘Yaya and Angelina: The Spoiled Brat Movie’ Rakes Up An Opening Of P34M

Despite the destruction brought by ‘Ondoy’ last weekend APT Entertainment’s Yaya and Angelina: The Spoiled Brat Movie still grossed P34M on its opening week.

According to reports, the comedy earned higher than Spring Film’s Kimmy Dora which had had a P30M opening week. Bubble Gang tandem Michael V. and Ogie Alcasid together with APT Entertainment executives are now celebrating because of the success of their movie.

The movie continuously earns more income today since its opening week. Some says that if ‘Ondoy’ did not come, the movie would have grossed even more than P34M.

‘Independencia’ Triumphs At Bangkok International Film Festival 2009

The cast and crew of the indie film, ‘Independencia’ brought home smiles as they bagged two main awards in the recently concluded Bangkok International Film Festival 2009.

The indie film was directed by Raya Martin starring Sid Lucero, Tetchie Agbayani, Alessandra de Rossi and Mika Aguilos. The drama film won the Grand Prize award in the Southeast Asian Competition and the NETPAC (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) Film Prize beating Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia and Nepal. ‘Imburnal’ another Filipino Indie Film received a special mention.

Filipino directors must continue in making superb indie films as they get recognition around the globe. Last year, ‘Serbis,’ another Filipino Indie Film received the grand prize in the Film Festival.

Aljur and Kris’ “Nandito Ako” Slumps On Its Opening Week

Last weekend typhoon ‘Ondoy’ attacked Metro Manila and left it with destroyed properties and injured inhabitants.

Starstruck loveteam Aljur Abrenica and Kris Bernal were addition to those devastated by the onslaught as their film ‘Nandito Ako’ flops the Box Office on its opening week. According to reports, the romantic-comedy film had a bad launching last Wednesday. Apparently, the Aljur-Kris movie seems to have a bad luck as another super typhoon, ‘Pepeng’ came to the Philippines this Friday.

The blame shouldn’t be put to ‘Ondoy’ or to the loveteam. It may be a lack of foresight on the part of production management that resulted to unsuccessful turn of events. If the launching was postponed, the movie may had a favorable ‘good’ opening week.

35th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2009 Official Film Entries

The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2009 Executive Committee led by MMDA Chairman Bayani Fernando, just announced the eight (8) official entries on the35th edition of MMFF this year, which was held at the Metropolitan Manila Development Administration (MMDA) office along EDSA, Makati City last July 3.

35th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2009 Entries Announced

Here’s the star-studded list of film entries that will grace the 35th MMFF this 2009:

MANO PO 6: MY MOTHER (Regal Films)
Starring: Sharon Cuneta
Directed by: Joel Lamangan

NIEVES (Regal Films)
Starring: Marian Rivera
Directed by: Mike Tuviera

Starring: Vic Sotto
Directed by: Tony Y. Reyes

Starring: Ruffa Gutierrez

JUAN (RVQ Productions)
Starring: Dolphy and Willie Revillame
Directed by: Eric Quizon

IKAW NA NGA (Star Cinema)
Starring: Kris Aquino, Kim Chiu, and Eugene Domingo
Directed by: Wenn V. Deramas

ANG PANDAY (GMA Films and Imus Productions)
Starring: Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr., Iza Calzado, Rhian Ramos, Geoff Eigenmann, and Philip Salvador.
Directed by: Mac Alejandre and Rico Gutierrez

WAPACMAN (Solar Films)
Starring: Manny Pacquiao, Nicole Scherzinger, and Batista
Directed by: Topel Lee

These 8 official entries of the MMFF will be shown from December 25, 2009 to January 3, 2010.